The 2016 No Sparring Fighter of the Year is Vasyl Lomachenko. “Loma” moved up in weight this past June to the Super Featherweight division and took on tough WBO champion Roman “Rocky” Martinez whom he knocked out in the 5th round to win his second division title. As an encore, Loma toyed with former featherweight champion Nicholas Walters and forced him to quit on his stool.

Loma is widely regarded as a top pound for pound boxer and is ranked #6 by No Sparring. Considering his utter dominance of two of the division’s best resulting in a fair consensus that other super featherweight champions probably would suffer the same fate, Loma has ascended the ranks and done so with style, knocking out top fighters.


Manny Pacquiao

The Pac Man scored two impressive wins this year, both against WBO welterweight champions. In his first bout, Pacquiao took down perennial great Timothy Bradley. When Pacquiao “retired” his newly won WBO title was made vacant and subsequently won by Jessie Vargas, whom soundly defeated later in the year. There was never any question as to the result of either fight and by defeating two top welterweights in a loaded division, Manny Pacquiao is this years No Sparring Fighter of the Year First Runner-Up.

Honorable Mention

Carl Frampton

Frampton beat two highly touted fighter’s in Scott Quigg and Leo Santa Cruz. For his part, Frampton unified two Super Bantamweight division titles in defeating Quigg and won a second division title in defeating Santa Cruz in the featherweight ranks. The fight with Santa Cruz was close and earned a rematch spotlight on Showtime next month. While a terrific fight, I conclude that the outright victory’s for Lomachenko and Pacquiao against top foes that will see no rematches, warrant more recognition.

Don’t forget to LIKE our FB page and follow us on twitter @NoSparring